Tags

, , ,

“As C.S. Lewis said to me long ago, more or less – (I do not suppose my memory of his dicta is any more precisely accurate than his of mine: I often find strange things attributed to me in his works) – ‘if they won’t write the kind of books we want to read, we shall have to write them ourselves; but it is very laborious’.”

-Tolkien, J. R. R. Letters of J. R. R. Tolkien. #159. To Dora Marshall. 3 March 1955

“But Lewis was a very impressionable, man, and this was abetted by his great generosity and capacity for friendship. The unpayable debt that I owe to him was not ‘influence as it is ordinarily understood, but sheer encouragement. He was for long my only audience. Only from him did I ever get the idea that my ‘stuff’ could be more than a private hobby. But for his interest and unceasing eagerness for more I should never have brought The L. of the R. to a conclusion…..”

-Tolkien, J. R. R. Letters of J. R. R. Tolkien. #276. To Dick Plotz, ‘Thain’ of the Tolkien Society of America. 12 September 1965

