Tags

, , , , , , ,

freddie-logoWith ever growing concerns about how websites use users data (especially when it comes to social media) reading companies Terms of Use and Privacy Policies has become more and more popular. Since beginning my course work in computer security, I read the majority of the Terms of Use for applications and websites that I use. The past couple years have brought about a movement to writing these legal documents so that they are easier for users to read and understand.

Higher Things uses MailChimp for any bulk e-mail we send out. Last week, they updated their Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. Stan forwarded the email announcing this update to me and asked me to read through them and summarize it for him. I didn’t give it a second thought. It’s good to know what exactly you’re agreeing to when using a service. Like I said, I read these kind of documents regularly anyway. But after asking a clarifying question he said he was joking and that making someone read Terms of Use was just cruel.  By that time, I had already made it through the Terms of Use and privacy policy (and written the 250 word summary Stan requested).

So, where do free T-shirts come in? Well, MailChimp is a really cool company. When Stan signed up he got a free MailChimp T-Shirt. His daughter fell in love with Freddie–MailChimp’s chimp mascot. She would open the iPhone app all the time so she could see Freddie. When Stan asked if they had a logo image he could use to help keep her out of the app their response was to send stickers and a stuffed Freddie to him!

While reading through the Terms of Use, I came across a hidden link that took me to a page that said my prize for so diligently reading them was a free MailChimp T-Shirt. And this is what came in the mail today!

mailchimp

The moral of this story? Read the Terms of Use and get free stuff!

