toast-smallThis past weekend I was honored to be Best Man for the wedding of my dear friends. Since lots of people have asked if anyone recorded my toast, I thought I would post it as written here. I think the delivered speech ended up fairly close to this.

C. S. Lewis once wrote, “To play well the scenes in which we are ‘on’ concerns us much more than to guess about the scenes that follow it.” Perhaps, he took the idea from one of Andrew’s favorite Shakespeare quotes, “All the world’s a stage, And all the men and women merely players.” Either way, today, Andrew and Sarah have done exactly that — they have played their parts flawlessly.

In the scene just hours ago, sheer joy overtook the nervous groom’s face as he saw his stunning bride for the first time. They spoke some of the most important lines in this play of their lives, in their wedding vows, all while remaining completely in the loving (and lovable) characters that they have made their own.

My dear friend, Andrew, has always played his parts well. He entered my life playing a sore loser – complaining or goofing off when he was getting completely destroyed at Halo parties in the Davis basement. Our friendship grew from there with representing the Basses with Attitude (BWA) in choirs in High School, many New Years’ Eve birthday parties and countless Brewer games (how you made this Cub fan’s second favorite team the Brewers, I will never know), not even to mention late nights cruising 76th street or talking around fires till 3… 4… or 5 in the morning.

One of Andrew’s recurring roles is of that guy who makes you do incredibly crazy things. Trespassing to use a friend’s hot tub when they’re out of town, going to a Brewers game… in St. Louis…. with less than 24 hours notice, and staying out all hours of the night. But, perhaps his greatest feat was convincing a sweet, kind, lovely girl to give dating him a chance.

The first I heard of this new character that had made her entrance into the play of Andrew’s life was in a text message, which I received at 5am, saying that he had been talking with a cute girl all night. When I was first introduced to this girl, it wasn’t exactly what I was expecting. She had white hair, a wrinkly face, and this really loud heart-wrenching scream. But when the Hecuba makeup came off, I started to get to know the sweet, caring, awesome hug giver, Sarah.

It has truly been an honor to play a support role for the entire act of Andrew and Sarah’s time dating, and the time they spent as fiancee to each other. There have been good times and bad times, easy times and not-so-easy times, tons of smiles, lots of laughter, many hugs and all that other mushy-gushy stuff that goes along with relationships.

This wedding scene, I will remember for the rest of my life. Andrew and Sarah you have played your parts flawlessly. There is no need to guess about the scenes that come next. You will continue on as the loving, caring, fun, lovable characters that you are. You will rest securely in your baptism as you forgive one another and are forgiven. And you will be blessed by the Lord as you continue to be blessings to those around you.

Please join me in a toast to my dear friends, Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Sierszyn.

You can also see the slideshow of Andrew and Sarah here:

Photo Credit: Emily Ebeling of Ebeling Art Studio. Check out more photos of the wedding here.

