wrigleyI love baseball. It’s really the only sport that I follow. This love of baseball can very clearly be traced back to my Grandfather. The majority of my memories of him involve him wearing some sort of Chicago Cubs paraphernalia or sitting extremely close to the TV usually getting angry with the Cubs or falling asleep with the game on.

My first baseball game was at Wrigley Field. I went with my grandpa and my sister. I really don’t remember anything about it except that we sat in the upper deck and I probably wasn’t awake for more than 3 or 4 innings. Because of all of that, at that point were I actually became a fan of baseball being a Cubs fan went hand-in-hand with it.

Now most of you know the Cubs. They ended this season with just 71 wins. That’s 91 losses. Making them the 3rd worst team in the National League. Usually they’re known as the “Lovable Losers” this season they weren’t even all that lovable thanks to Carlos Zambrano. But the fans keep watching anyway. The real fans, the ones who really believe that there is always next year, and that maybe, just maybe, next year will be different stand behind the Cubs year after year whether the blue “W” is flying above the scoreboard at the end of the game or not.

The only thing that could make this seasons NLCS better is if the Cubs were in it. But they’re not. There’s always next year.

This year my second favorite team has a real shot at going to and winning the World Series. Milwaukee is electrified with excitement. The Milwaukee Brewers have had an extremely exciting season. I’ve seen 10 games in person. Including games against their NCLS opponents both in Milwaukee and St. Louis. It will be an exciting series. The tension between the Brewers and the Cardinals has lasted all season.

But let’s take a step back for a second. You know how I came to be a Cubs fan, but where did the Brewers come from? Well first it probably has a lot to do with living in Milwaukee just a 10 minute drive from Miller Park. But I think a lot has to do with my best friend Andrew (pictured with me above, in front of Wrigley). Andrew is a true baseball fan: with the Brewers every step of the way, gets angry with them when they mess up, couldn’t contain his joy when they made the playoffs and then advanced onto the NLCS. 9 of the 10 Brewers games I went to this season were with him.

So by the grace of God, I now cheer for a halfway decent team (at least this season) at all of their games except for those against my team – the Chicago Cubs. The same excitement is there. Milwaukee is going crazy with excitement (when they aren’t distracted by the Packers). This seasons Brewers love playing baseball. You can hear it in their voices. You can see it in their smiles. Prince Fielder gets frustrated when he’s intentionally walked because he just wants to bat. The team likes each other, they make fun of each other in press conferences, most of them have adopted what is called the “beast mode” pose. Beast mode started with Prince Fielder impersonating Sully from Monsters, Inc. to his two kids watching in the stands. Not only are the Brewers a lovable team this year. They’re actually doing well!

So, now we’re just minutes from the first pitch of Game 1 of the NLCS between the Milwaukee Brewers and the St. Louis Cardinals. Let’s go Brewers!

And Cubbies – there’s always next year.

