Awesome!

 

Recently, I have been attempting to catch up on the second best show on Pirate Christian Radio: The God Whisperers. Second best because we all know that Higher Things Radio is the best! (Okay, so I may be a little biased :-P).

 

I was listening to Episode 31, their second episode on Baptism. Pastors Cwirla and Donofrio were talking about the end of Matthew 28 mainly verses 19 and 20:

 

19 Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.

 

Pr. Cwirla brought up something awesome thats found in greek. What is translated “I am with you” is:

 

ἐγὼ μεθ’ ὑμῶν εἰμι

 

For those of you who don’t know Greek translated in order that is “I with you am”

 

For those of you who DO know Greek, you can correct me if I’m wrong. 🙂

 

ἐγὼ (ego) εἰμι (eimi) is the name of God (Yahweh) in Greek. Like when Jesus says I AM the Bread of Life or I AM he when he is being arrested and his captors fall down.

 

Matthew splits it up in the above verse probably because in Jewish culture you didn’t say the Name of God. But as Pr. Cwirla pointed out in the God Whisperers episode that literally puts you “In the Name”

 

Now thats awesome. Especially, in the context of Baptism!

 

I recommend you subscribe to the God Whisperers podcast. And while you’re subscribing to The God Whisperers make sure you subscribe to HT-Radio if you haven’t already!

