Thats right! I’m posting about Christmas on New Year’s Eve. Why? Because I don’t really get  the celebrating of a new year beginning. Certainly there are things that I am looking forward to in 2007, like my graduation, my sisters wedding, and of course FOR YOU in MN. I just don’t understand why we celebrate midnight of January 1st.

The year is a very strange thing. Its the name we give to 365 days. Wait thats not even right because we have a year with 366 days every 4 years. A year is 12 months. What kind of number is 12? Wouldn’t it make more sense if it were 10, a nice even number. But apparently a month is based on the moon and Years are based on the Sun rotating around the earth. Wait! I guess they found out that its the earth that goes around the Sun. So those smart scientists people decided to teach us something even it it doesn’t make much sense to people like me. Maybe I will understand more through my astronomy class next semester.

But what about other ways of measuring time: Days I can understand it gets bright then it gets dark even if its cloudy. Though I am not sure why the day starts when it still dark out when it would be much easier to start when the sun rises. But hours Why are there 24 hours in a day? 24 not 25 not 50 not 20 not nice even numbers but 24. What makes up a hour? 60 minuets 60, not 100 not 50 but 60. Then they break up the minuets into 60 seconds. What do we need seconds for? All of this came from me mentioning the New Year.

So how about the Christmas part of this post?

I love music! All kinds of music I just love it. (Except rap but is that really music?) I can’t get enough of singing music, listening to music, attempting to play music on my keyboard I got for Christmas. Advent is full of really Good hymns. I like Advent hymns more then I like Christmas hymns.

But why is that? With other things advent is full of good things leading up to the great things of Christmas. One thing that comes to mind is when I was younger and we used to have those chocolate Advent calenders. We got a piece of chocolate each day and then during Christmas we got a ton of it in our stockings or my favorite chocolate cookies that my aunt makes for Christmas every year. But for some reason I just like the Advent hymns more then Christmas ones.

Even though in general I do like Advent hymns more then Christmas hymns none of my favorite hymns come from the Advent section. Two of them come from the Christmas section. One of them is From Heaven above to Earth I come, and the other I have typed out below.

LSB #384

Of the Father’s love begotten, ere the worlds began to be,
He is Alpha and Omega, He the source, the ending He,
Of the things that are, that have been,
And that future years shall see, evermore and evermore!

O that birth forever blessed, when the virgin, full of grace,
By the Holy Ghost conceiving, bare the Savior of our race;
And the Babe, the world’s Redeemer,
First revealed His sacred face, evermore and evermore!

This is He whom seers in old time canted of with one accord,
Whom the voices of the prophets promised in their faithful word.
Now He shines, the Long expected;
Let creation praise its Lord, evermore and evermore!


O ye heights of heaven adore Him; angel hosts, His praises sing;
Powers, dominions, bow before Him, and extol our God and King!
Let no tongue on earth be silent,
Every voice in concert sing, evermore and evermore!

Christ, to Thee with God the Father, and, O Holy Ghost, to Thee,
Hymn and chant with high thanksgiving, and unwearied praises be:
Honor, glory, and dominion,
And eternal victory, evermore and evermore!

 

A very blessed Christmas and New Year to you all!

