For a high-school student such as myself summer-time means Libertatum (freedom). This Last summer before I graduate has been full of freedoms. Freedom to go to bed and wake up when I want to. The Freedom to hang out with friends, talking watching movies or playing video games. Freedom to spend as much time as I want on the computer.

This next year as a Senior, I will have more freedoms as a student. I have more freedom in selecting classes I want to take. The freedom of early release when I have 8th hour study hall. All this leads up to graduation. Graduation is only another beginning leading to more and more freedom.

During the school year I will undoubtedly look forward to the weekends. The weekends are like “little summers.” They bring back some of those freedoms, such as going to bed late and waking up whenever I want to.

I will look forward to weekends for another reason too. That other reason is the Divine Service! Where I am reminded of the greatest freedom I have. My Freedom in the Gospel. All those other freedoms do not even come close to that freedom.

I am going to enjoy my last week of freedom from school but each week I am reminded of another week. That week in which my Freedom from sin was achieved by Christ Jesus’ death and resurrection!

Pax Christi

