As I have mentioned before, I am involved in a few singing groups at my school. Throughout the year we have a few Lutheran High Sundays. Through these we go to a variety of churches. From Churches with the Liturgy, chanting, organ; to churches with CCM, lay readers, and power point screens. Throughout this year there have been some of each of those and some in the middle. It seems like the more and more churches I go to, I confess my sins but the pastor really doesn’t announce forgiveness to me. Why not? Isn’t that what I go to church for?

In our hymnal and in my church the after confession he says this:

“Upon this your confession, I, as a called and ordained servant of the Word, announce the grace of God to all of you, and in the stead and by the command of my Lord Jesus Christ I forgive you all your sins in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.”

Many churches now leave it open, we should confess our sins daily," or other things that just never get around to forgiveness. Why not? The pastors have the authority to forgive sins.

So I leave you with these questions: What are the reasons you go to church? and Why wouldn’t the pastors want to remind us that we are forgiven as much as possible?

Christ is Risen!

 

